TIny steps toward a healthier me.


I’m really excited about my commitment to health over the last few weeks. I’ve been completely devoted to my goal of reaching 1000 miles and I’ve even added in a weekly swim to my workout routine. I’ve started tracking my workouts in a little notebook. I bought a set of 3 on clearance at Target, and it’s the perfect size to throw in my purse so I can update it after every workout. As of today, my new current totals are as follows:

Actual Miles: 73

Non-distance miles: 26

To reach my goal by the end of the year, I’ll need to average a little over 83 miles a month. So, I have 4  more days to go 10 more miles and reach my monthly goal point. I’m totally psyched that I’m on track to meet my goal in ACTUAL MILES 🙂 Hells yeah!

Image

The pefect spot to track my progress

I’ve been heading to the gym 6 days a week, and even though I’ve only lost a few pounds I feel better every day. I love coming home with my hair soaked in sweat and feeling my fatigued muscles struggle up the stairs to my 3rd floor apartment. It’s not easy. Running 4 miles is not easy. But, it gets better every day, and I love being reminded that seldom-used muscles exist, with lingering soreness after a good workout. Plus, I’ve got to make sure I’m dress-ready for my wedding in 6 months! The dress has been purchased, but I’m not-so-secretly hoping to exchange it for a smaller size in a few months… only time will tell though. In the time being, I’ve been trying to make delicious and healthy foods like this stellar stir-fry the other day. I cooked chicken and vegetables in a mixture of olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, apricot preserves, and red pepper. It tasted amazing, was low carb, and was full of delicious nutrients from the variety of vegetables used. Image

Also, I’ve been trying to fix my snacking habits. I haven’t stopped snacking, as it’s good for your metabolism to eat more often, but I’ve been replacing chips and crackers with raw vegetables, apples, bananas and low-calorie rice snacks when I have a craving for something crunchy. I’ve found that packaging vegetables before hand has been so helpful. I’ve been filling ziplock bags with carrots and celery and throwing a little bit of peanut butter in my lunch bag along with it.

Image

As you can see, I’ve been terribly committed that last few weeks. I haven’t been perfect. I still had fun going out to eat on the weekends and devouring a delicious burger, but I’d love to have more suggestions on what changes I should make next. Let me know any healthy tips you have for daily life, and also, let me know how you’re doing on the 1000 mile goal!

3 responses to “TIny steps toward a healthier me.

  1. This is awesome Laura!! That sir fry looks really yummy. 🙂 Have you thought about using an app to help you? I use the MyFitnessPal. I love it and it is free. It helps me to stay on track and keeps me accountable for what I do eat. Don’t get me wrong, I am right there with you about cheating a tiny bit on the weekends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

