Laura gets a gold star!


You can probably tell, by the fact that I’m posting again, that I actually feel PROUD of myself this week. I worked out every day this week aside from today, which a scheduled resting day. This week I ran,walked, swam, pumped iron, did tons of crunches, and ellipticized (there needs to be an easier way of saying I used the elliptical). I also took advantage of the lovely unusually warm January weather and took walks during my lunch break. After work Friday I drove down to Potter’s Bridge Park in Noblesville, just a few minutes from my work, and took a walk along the riverbank. If I’d had running clothes I would have gone for a run, but walking along the river was lovely and I fully intend on returning there to run once spring peaks its head out.

541673_10100979767460158_981637625_n

my new after-work running spot for when it gets warmer!

As an update, here are my current counts for my 1000 mile goal:

Actual miles: 25

Non-distance miles: 14

To complete my goal I need to do an average of just over 19 miles a week. I started a little slow as I didn’t start the challenge until a few days into the month, but I’m sure I’ll make up for lost time sooner than later. If I add those numbers together I’ve already reached my goal in miles for the first two weeks, but I’m really hoping to do the 1000 in actual distance, without including other exercise. I’m crossing my fingers (and toes) for a successful outcome!

I am also happy to report that I kept my calorie count low this week, despite eating out several times, which I’m VERY proud of. I’m good at eating well at home, but it’s hard for me to go out to eat and be good. I even went to Greek’s (which is my favorite pizza ever!) and got a small pizza, ate half, and saved the rest for the next day. Justin and I went out to breakfast and split an omelet. I’m really proud of my self control for once. I did eat quite a lot of pita bread and grilled meat at the Turkish restaurant yesterday for our anniversary, but it was still waaaaay healthier than a cheeseburger and fries, and I had already been to the gym AND gone on a three mile run, which made it almost guilt-free. If you live in the Indianapolis area I definitely recommend Istanbul Cafe on 86th street. They start you out with soft pita bread off the grill, served with oil and herbs. The falafel was delicious. We shared an entre sampler of four types of meat along with rice and mixed vegetables. All the meat was tender and flavorful, but each with distinct seasonings. It’s a step above casual dining, but if you want a nice dinner, YUM. Highly recommended.

After all my hard work this week, I lost about 2 lbs and I’m prepared to keep it going 😀

Until next time, be healthy! And let me know how you’re doing on the 1,000 miles if you’ve committed yourself to it as well!

 

 

Leave a Reply

