1000 miles to get to ME


So, I haven’t been very successful since I last wrote. Holidays were filled with cookies, cakes, pies, more cookies, and lots of stress with wedding planning and trying to finish up grad school apps. Luckily, I only have a few more things to submit for my grad school applications, and I will finally have more time to concentrate on my fitness!

It’s been a constant struggle lately. Every weekend I go out to eat, out to the bars, or to family meals where I devour piles of delicious dishes and second helpings. I gain three pounds, lose two, and then gain back another one. It’s been a battle, especially since I really really really want to run outside and it’s been fa-fa-freezing outside.

So, yesterday, I joined Gold’s Gym. I thought I could survive with the small gym at my apartment, but it’s crowded and dark and makes me want to go fetal. The gym was running a great new years special, AND it’s literally right in front of my apartment complex, so I won’t have any excuse about not wanting to drive there. And, I got a membership where I can bring unlimited guests, so I can always have a buddy when I go to the gym (if I want). I’m gonna be dragging my boo there A LOT. I’m starting out strong with workouts the past two days, and I’m hoping to keep up the good work and lose the weight (almost 10 lbs) that I’ve gained back in the last couple months of holiday submission.

Also, I found a group on facebook dedicated to going 1000 miles in 2013, and I have chosen to work toward this goal as well.  That’s an average of 2.79 miles a day. These miles can be completed by any athletic method of locomotion, whether it be a treadmill, a bike, an elliptical, or a run down the street. The creator of the facebook page also suggested that people can include aerobics, dance, and weight training, by converting every 15 minutes working out to a mile. I think that I can complete the 1,000 miles with actual distance running, walking, and perhaps working on the elliptical, but I also want to track the other work I’m doing. I’m going to track “actual miles” and “non-distance miles” and see how far my feet (and the rest of my body) take me.

553087_10151199234701592_438671163_n

I’ve started off a little slow because of all the holiday happenings, but so far I’ve completed:

Actual miles: 11

Non-distance miles: 9

Comment if you’d like to join me in trying to complete 1,000 miles this year, as I’ll probably need the support!

3 responses to “1000 miles to get to ME

  1. Hey Laura! Glad to hear you’re getting back to it! I’m finally finding a routine here too. I like the 1,000 mile challenge Idea and will try to keep track too. I’ll let you know how it goes! – Michelle

Leave a Reply

