My Glorious Return


So, I’m not one to make excuses (THIS IS A  LIE), but I’ve had a lot going on the last few weeks that hasn’t exactly been beneficial to my fitness and weight-loss goals. Between the state fair, the long-awaited return of my dear friend and fellow fat-kid-at-heart Brandon (who has moved back home from beautiful Hawaii), and several weeks of packing, moving and unpacking, I haven’t had much time for running, going to the gym, or blogging about my fabulous life. And for all these things, I apologize profusely. I hereby promise to blog at a more continuous rate and again be an inspiration to my fellow fat-kids-who-want-to-be-fitness-fanatics.

Let’s just say the past few weeks of “let’s not buy groceries because we were moving” and “let’s just order pizza because I’m tired from un-packing” and “let’s drink some delicious beers” have not been kind to me. Despite doing strenuous things like hauling furniture and boxes up 2 flights of stairs and scrubbing down my old bathroom while inhaling dangerous chemical fumes,  I gained back a few pounds that I had once lost, but I’m happy to announce that after a few days of legitimately trying to be good again my scale is being a lot more friendly. I had to end my gym membership in Lafayette due to our move to Indianapolis, but there is a small gym at my apartment complex which I am trying out for the time being. There are 3 treadmills, 2 bikes, and 2 ellipticals, along with various weight machines and some free weights. The machines are not as new and shiny as the ones at my former gym, but they will do for now. Justin (my boyfriend/roommate) and I made our first trip there Wednesday, along with a short jog around our apartment complex. I ran about 2 miles on the treadmill followed by 20 minutes on the elliptical machine, and it felt good. I had missed that rush. I also realized how badly I need new running shoes. They say running shoes should be replaced every 300-400 miles, and from my vague calculation I think I’ve put close to 300 (if not more) on my current shoes I purchased in early Spring. So, I think my next pay-check I will be splurging on some new kicks, and I plan on going to a running store so they can recommend the best shoe for my feet and their insoles, arches, etc. Wish me luck!

Despite needing new running shoes, I made my glorious return to running yesterday. I was on a fairly regular schedule where I was running between 10-15 miles a week until my move approached  few weeks ago, but in the past 3 weeks, I can count the number of times I’ve run on one hand, and they haven’t been for more than a mile or two. So, I was utterly amazed with myself when I did 4 miles yesterday, finishing right at the 40-minute mark.  This would have been a kick-ass time for me 3 weeks ago, but considering my lack of training recently, I’d call my run yesterday outright miraculous. The beautiful tree-shaded Monon Trail and the perfect tip-toeing-into-fall weather probably helped. I may have also been subconsciously motivated by the need to impress the multitude of runners and cyclers on the bustling trail. Whatever the reason for my successful run, I plan on returning to the scenic, 18-mile Monon Trail often; I might even make it my new Saturday running spot. Of course, I have lots of other new places to explore with my move to Indiapolis. The city awaits!

Along with our new place, I made a little something to adorn the wall at our apartment. I made a collage with pictures and other mementos from our first 5k, back in March. It’s both a reminder of how far both of us have come on our journey toward better health as well as a motivator to keep going and working and making our lives better each and every day. Being lazy doesn’t get you any farther than the start, and I want my life to keep moving. Plus, it’s always nice to look back and see how far you’ve come.

 

 

One response to “My Glorious Return

Leave a Reply

