Rage-Induced Ice Cream


This week I broke another personal record. I smashed my previous record of longest run (5 miles), by doing an entire 6 miles at the gym. Now, I admit it wasn’t completely straight through, but only because I had a very persistent need for a bathroom break after the first mile. After that short bladder pit-stop I ran another 5 flippin’ miles. It probably helped that I was filled with rage due to the giant mass of people outside of Chik-fil-A next door. I started running and I kept thinking about all the people next door who were standing up for “freedom of speech” or “family values” who were herded there like sheep, and wondered how many of them actually knew just what they were really taking a stand for.  That’s all I will say about the issue as I know my opinion isn’t everyone’s and I’m not trying to start a debate today, but for me, it made me sad, and then it made me angry, and then I just ran and that rage made me keep going, and I broke my record. So, in a way, I’d like to say thanks to all the people who enraged me. Thanks, guys.

It’s probably a good thing I had all that rage because I probably would have put myself in an ice-cream induced coma this week otherwise. Now, I’m not the type of person who craves fudge and cake every day, but I do have a few sweets that I cannot go without. For example, I could probably live on a diet consisting solely of those fruit-flavored Tootsie Rolls (especially the lemon and vanilla ones).  I also love ice cream, especially in the summer when it’s so hot all the time. I’ve been realistic in the expectation that I will probably succumb to my craving for delicious icy bliss at one point or another, so it’s become my new goal in life to search out lower calorie options in the frozen treats section. Here are a few suggestions:

Image

Drumstick Lil’ Drums:  These are probably the most amazing thing ever! At  110 calories a piece they won’t ruin your diet, and if you can convince yourself to have just one, the fact that they’re individually wrapped really helps with portion control.

Image

Edy’s Slow Churned Yogurt Blends: They have a few different flavors, and are usually between 110 and 120 calories per serving. My grocery store tends to have different flavors depending on when I go.  My absolute favorite, which I cannot seem to find anywhere lately, is the Cappucino Chip flavor. I’ve also tried Caramel Praline Crunch and Cookies and Cream, which were both equally tasty .I also love the texture of this stuff; sometimes ice cream gets so hard you can barely scoop it out, but this yogurt maintains a softer consistency great for scooping AND eating.

Edy’s Slow Churned Ice Cream: Again, they have this in several delicious flavors, but my new favorite is the Triple Cookie Fudge Sundae, which is sort of like a carton of Neopolitan, except  the three flavors are chocolate chip cookie dough, chocolate, and vanilla with fudge brownies. It’s pretty spectacular at 110 calories per serving.

Image

Blue Bunny Sweet Freedom: Again, these flavors usually run about 110 calories per serving. They have a lot of different flavors if you look online, but at my grocery store, they only had vanilla, chocolate, and the banana split flavor. Maybe the grocery store around you might have more? I did try the banana split flavor and it is REALLY tasty. It packs a lot of flavors in one carton, and while on bit might be nutty, the next will be filled with chocolate, and then the next will taste like maraschino cherry. I’m really hoping a bigger variety of options shows up at my local store soon.

So hopefully, if you are a craver of ice cream like I am, you can have delicious options that you won’t have to feel quite as guilty about. Most of these options have around 1/3 less calories than your average serving of ice cream, just remember that a serving size is just a half cup for most varieties of ice cream, so don’t eat TOO much at once.

Image

Because I have been craving sweet things lately I also found a delicious cookie recipe that is just around 75 calories per cookie and TOTALLY helps satisfy my sweet tooth. I started with the recipe for chewy oatmeal peanut butter cookies here, but nixed the flax seed (because I didn’t have any) and added in delicious chocolate chips. They turned out amazing! I brought them to a pitch in at work and had people begging for the recipe. My boyfriend (a peanut-butter fiend) will also vouch for their deliciousness. They are soft and chewy (one of my favorite qualities in a cookie) and don’t contain any butter!

So basically, the moral of this week is that sweet things are delicious, and that it is OKAY to cheat now and then, but just do it the smart way! Happy ice-cream eating! (and baking, because those cookies are seriously good.)

Leave a Reply

