welcome to my healthy fiesta


So, in case you were wondering, I did run the Zoo Run Run 5k last weekend.

With all the hot weather we’ve had I was terrified that race day would be nearly unbearable, but the morning of the race arrived, and we were blessed with milder temperatures and really great early-morning race weather! I started off strong, running on the adrenaline rush from all the people surrounding me.  I made it to the first mile marker and was starting to tire. I had really bad allergies that week, and it was affecting the normal rhythm of my breathing.  After about another quarter mile, I had to stop and walk a bit and catch my breath. After that first stop, I couldn’t seem to run more than a half mile or so without walking for a few paces. It felt like I spent about half of the final mile walking, so I wasn’t feeling good about my run as I approached the finish line.

After a few free pancakes (the perks of running a race!) I was finally able to check my official chip time and was beyond happy to see that it was 30:09, almost a minute and a half faster than my 5k finish time back in March. Heck yes! I would have loved to get my time in under 30 minutes, but getting within 10 seconds of that goal felt almost as good as actually reaching it. Now, I’m on the look-out for a good 10k race to attempt this fall, and maybe next year I can work my way up to a half-marathon?

Because my boyfriend Justin was a trooper and also ran the race with me despite not having trained at all for a race, and because I wanted to try something new, I made him some DELICIOUS dinner this week. About a month or two ago, I attempted the turkey and vegetable meatloaf recipe here, but with a few modifications. Because my boyfriend hates mushrooms, I substituted them with broccoli and carrots instead. But we both LOVED this healthier version of a hearty favorite, so I wanted to try and make something even more scrumptious.

This weekend the Fiesta Meatloaf was born. Again, I modified the same turkey meatloaf recipe, but made a lot more changes to create a completely new dish. I served my new taco/meatloaf hybrid with some quinoa and a fresh corn and black bean salsa and it turned out amazing! Justin said if he could marry two people he would marry me AND the meatloaf I made. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as he obviously did!

Image

Quinoa is a great high-protein replacement for rice or pasta and went well with our meatloaf! We cooked our quinoa in a mixture of water and salsa to add a kick!

HEALTHY FIESTA MEATLOAF:

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. finely chopped yellow squash
  • 1/2 c. finely chopped bell pepper
  • 1/2 c. black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1/2 c. corn (drained)
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 lb. of ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. Panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 c. shredded Mexican cheese
  • 1/2 c. salsa
Image

Mmmm…. cheesy and delicious 😀

Preparation:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees

Saute onions, squash, peppers, and garlic until cooked, and add cilantro, chili powder, salt and pepper to taste. Remove from heat and add black beans and corn to mixture, then set aside.

Beat egg with the taco seasoning. Combine the egg mixture with the meat, and then add in bread crumbs, cooled vegetables, 1/4 c. of cheese, and 1/4 cup of salsa. Put mixture into a well sprayed or greased loaf pan. Cover loaf with the other 1/4 c. of salsa.

Cook in the oven for about 40-45 minutes. Remove and sprinkle with remaining 1/4 c. of cheese. Bake for another 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven and serve with salsa, avocados or anything else you would normally eat with tacos! Feel free to personalize as you please!

Image

The meatloaf was delicious with avocado and the black bean salsa!

We made a super yummy and addictive corn and black bean salsa. We literally could not stop eating it!

CORN AND BLACK BEAN SALSA

  • 1/2 cup black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1/2 c. corn (drained)
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 red or yellow bell pepper
  • 2 roma tomatoes
  • lime (or lime juice)
  • dried or fresh cilantro
  • garlic, seasoned salt, cumin, and chili pepper to taste

Preparation:

Chop, tomato, onion, and bell pepper and mix with black beans and corn in a medium bowl. Cut lime in half and squeeze all the juice into bowl. Mix vegetable/bean mixture with lime juice and stir in cilantro, garlic, salt, cumin and pepper to taste. If you have time put it in the fridge to let flavors mingle. Serve cold.

Leave a Reply

